ABOUT | CURRENT ISSUE | ALL ISSUES | FOR AUTHORS | POLICIES | PEER REVIEW POLICY | ORDER PRINT | PRESS


Focus and Scope

Jahrbuch der Österreichischen Byzantinistik (JÖB) invites submissions of innovative studies on all aspects of Byzantine history and culture and of new editions of Byzantine texts. It covers the period from the 4th to the 16th century and contains studies focussing on the Byzantine Empire (roughly spoken the area of South-East Europa, Asia, and North Africa), but also on neighbouring areas as far as their subjects are linked to or compared with Byzantine culture. The criterion for acceptance is an innovative approach or new results of a chosen topic. Peer reviewers will assess these criteria. Editions have to follow state-of-the-art philological standards (critical apparatus, indication of sources, comment on the manuscripts and the system of punctuation). JÖB offers also the possibility to publish articles (by multiple authors) in thematic clusters, preceded by a short introduction. In the separate review section, recent publications on all aspects of Byzantine culture are reviewed by specialists.

Articles are accepted in English, German, French and Italian. All articles must be accompanied by an English abstract and English keywords. Non-English articles will begin the abstract with a translation of the title.

The print of JÖB is financially supported by the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the University of Vienna.

Authors do not incur any expenses for publishing in the print version of Jahrbuch der Österreichischen Byzantinistik. Jahrbuch der Österreichischen Byzantinistik is indexed by Crossref, ERIH-PLUS, ScImago (SJR), SCOPUS.


Editors

New editorial board since volume 68 (2018)

Christian GASTGEBER (Sen. Lect., Dr.)
Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research
Christian.Gastgeber@oeaw.ac.at

Johannes PREISER-KAPELLER (Dr.)
Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research
Johannes.Preiser-Kapeller@oeaw.ac.at

Claudia RAPP (Prof.)
University of Vienna, Department of Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies / Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research
claudia.rapp@univie.ac.at

Elisabeth SCHIFFER (Dr.)
Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research
Elisabeth.Schiffer@oeaw.ac.at


Contact Details

Editorial address:
Christian.Gastgeber(at)oeaw.ac.at


Advisory Board

Wolfram Brandes (The Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Division Frankfurt / M.; brandes@rg.mpg.de)

Leslie Brubaker (University Birmingham, Centre for Byzantine, Ottoman and Modern Greek Studies; l.brubaker@bham.ac.uk)

Salvatore Cosentino (University of Bologna, Dipartimento di Beni Culturali; salvatore.cosentino@unibo.it)

Arne Effenberger (University of Berlin, Institute for Greek and Latin Philology; arneeffenberger@t-online.de)

Olivier Delouis (National Center for Scientific Research, CNRS, Paris; olivier.delouis@college-de-france.fr)

John Haldon (University of Princeton, Department of History; jhaldon@princeton.edu

Sofia Kalopissi-Verti (University of Athens, Department of Archaeology and History of Art; skalop@arch.uoa.gr)

Johannes Koder (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research; Johannes.Koder@oeaw.ac.at)

Taxiarchis Kolias (University of Athens, Department of Byzantine Philology and Folkloristics; kolias@phil.uoa.gr)

Andreas E. Müller (University of Vienna, Department of Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies; a.e.mueller@univie.ac.at)

Günter Prinzing (University of Mainz, Division of Byzantine Studies; prinzing@uni-mainz.de)

Alexander Riehle (Harvard University, Department of Classics; ariehle@fas.harvard.edu)

Maciej Salamon (Jagiellonian University of Kraków, Institute of History; maciejsalamon@interia.pl)

Werner Seibt (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Medieval Research, Division of Byzantine Research; Werner.Seibt@oeaw.ac.at)